Loading content...

We Save your Scripts

There is no need to maintain your script on your computer

Your Scripts are stored in the Cloud

When using our website and script editor, we securely store your screenplays on our servers as well as in the Amazon cloud, so there is no specific need to maintain a copy on your personal computer. We do recommend that from time to time you export your scripts for safekeeping (in Final Draft FDX or PDF format), but that is entirely your call.

Using Save and Autosave in solo mode

Prior to inviting others to edit your script, our editor works much like many word processors, with Save and Autosave items in the File menu:

At any time after making additions or changes, or changing various script settings like elements or margins, you can use the Save item (or depress Ctrl-S on your keyboard) to save the script to our servers. This means that if you make some changes you do not want, you can reload or exit the script without saving, allowing you to abandon changes you don't want.

That being said, we strongly recommend you turn on the Autosave feature, which tells the site how often to save your changes. CHoose the Autosave item in the File menu, which brings up the Autosave popup box:

Use the dropdown menu to set the time before each save (or Never to disable it) and click Save to ensure the site is set to save your work frequently as you write.

Save and Autosave not used in Collaborative mode

Once you have invited someone to edit a given draft of a given script (and even before they have accepted the invite), our site stores that draft differently, saving all changes by all editors immediately. This is what allows collaboration to work, where changes from others show up in real time on your screen. What that means is that there is no longer a need to either Save or Autosave so you will not see either of them in the File menu.